Only Registered Training Organisations (RTO) can issue qualifications and statements of attainment that are recognised nationally.

In NSW, we have a competency based training system for the property industry sector. The units of competency for each sector of the property agency industry are outlined in the Property Services Training Package (CPP07) available on www.training.gov.au

With a competency based model, education and training can be done on-the-job and assessed by a qualified assessor. Recognition of prior learning (RPL) and recognition of current competency (RCC) also provides a pathway towards a qualification and should be thoroughly investigated for any existing skills and knowledge equivalent to the requirements of the course being undertaken.

Click on the link below to see what this is about and please, contact one of our trainers to discuss your possibilities.

The Definition of Competency:

‘Competency is the capability to apply or use the set of related knowledge, skills and abilities required to successfully perform ‘critical work functions’ or tasks in a defined work setting a number of times’

Volume of Learning:

Certificate IV qualifications are often either:

• Shorter duration, specialist qualifications that build on existing skills and knowledge, or

• Longer duration qualifications that are designed as entry level requirements for specific work roles.

Usually, a Certificate IV qualification would have the duration of 6 months minimum to an expected maximum of 2 years. However, a shorter course is acceptable if the student already has most of the required skills and knowledge. It may be appropriate to deliver a program over a shorter period provided assessments, combined with a successful RPL / RCC audit provide the necessary successful conclusion. This method allows REAL ESTATE EXPLAINED to meet your individual training and assessment needs.

Where to Start?
Submit an up-to-date resume or detailed job description of what you ‘already know and do’. Further support of this will be verified by your third party advocate (usually your employer) or supervisor. All third-party reports will need to follow the rules of evidence and relate directly to the unit of competency and to the applicant. We will provide the necessary instructions and documentation, including the list of skills and knowledge that need to be addressed.
Formal Qualifications – Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL):

These would include any recognised qualification such as a trade certificate, a TAFE course or another course from an RTO or any other formal course. The formal qualification will need to directly relate to an element or elements of the course that you are seeking Skills Recognition for. Your formal qualification may in its entirety be equivalent, or a subject or module may directly relate to the Unit of Competency. You must provide a copy of your qualification or Statement(s) of Attainment to be verified by the issuing RTO. There is no cost for this verification and if equivalent, a Credit Transfer will be applied. If the SOA or qualification is different but the content is similar, we will attempt to ‘map’ the two to locate any credit transfer or provide ‘gap’ training to fulfil the requirements.

Evidentiary Documents – Recognition of Current Competency (RCC):

These are ‘material items’ such as copies of the work you have completed, for example ingoing inspection reports, listing authorities, in/out correspondence, complaint handling, testimonials that supports our ability to make an assessment about whether you might be competent in a unit that makes up the qualification. A comprehensive list will be provided once we have recognised which units you should apply for RCC audit.

You should devote time to the task of gathering and labelling evidence and your submission of the documents to have the best chance of a successful audit – consider it time well spent. Remember too, some evidence crosses over to multiple units, such as your resume and only needs to be submitted once but marked against the units the document supports. Again, tips for this are on each unit’s RPL page.


Valid – the assessor is assured that the learner has the skills, knowledge and attributes as described in the unit of competency and the documents support this.

Authentic – the assessor is assured that the evidence presented for assessment is the learner’s own work and has been accumulated over time, for example the listing agreement MUST have been completed by you; the testimonial provided by the client is about you, not just the agency.

Sufficient – the assessor is assured that the quality, quantity and relevance of the assessment evidence enables a judgement to be made of a learner’s competency. Competency is based on doing the task well a number of times and addresses all the critical aspects of the unit(s).

Currency – the assessor is assured that the assessment evidence demonstrates current competency, for example amendments to the Acts that pertain to real estate agent’s work. This requires the assessment evidence to be from the present or very recent past. It is expected that evidence provided will be no more than 2 years.

Deemed Equivalence:
If you are already currently licensed or currently registered and appear on a regulatory body’s website as such, we can deem you as having an equivalent level of training because we know you already hold a Certificate of Registration in real estate. There is then the opportunity to ‘map’ these across to either gap training if the COR was issued prior to 23 March 2020 or provide a credit transfer if your COR was issued after 23 March 2020.

Download the documentation and requirements of each unit here:

  • 41419 Recognition of Prior Learning RPL
  • TBA